Clothing as Art

While continuing to learn about the technic behind using a sewing machine, I’ve started to consider the connection between clothing and art. Surprisingly(!!!), I am not the first to consider such connection and the internet is FULL of great inspiration and previously discovered knowledge. Here are a few of the artists that I admire who are working with clothing:

Jean Shin

jean-shin

Jean Shin is an American artist, teaching and creating art in New York. As her wiki page suggests, she is best known for her “labor-intensive, sculptural process of transforming accumulations of cast-off objects into visually alluring, conceptually rich works”. While she usually works with other materials, I really enjoy this conceptual piece using the stitching and buttons of mens dress shirts. The focus solely lies on the important aspects of a shirt, which is a pretty neat concept! However, this is not entirely what I’m looking for as I hope to wear my piece. I just thought it was really cool.

Alain Guerra & Neraldo de la Paz

recyclingclothingart16

http://www.fubiz.net/2010/07/20/recycling-clothing-art/  (Article is in French)

Referring to themselves as “Guerra de la Paz”, “their work is inspired by an essential familiarity with found ready-made objects; whose archeological qualities and encapsulated energies expose the significance of the human footprint while revealing underlying psychosocial and environmental messages”(Wikipedia). They have been collaborating since 1996 and although the article I found didn’t say much, the pictures were absolutely amazing. The artists took recycled clothing and created brilliant works of art. I definitely recommend checking out their other works in this collection. Unfortunately, despite being inspiring as heck, this is still not the vibe I’m looking for.

Charles LeDray

ledray

 http://www.shirtsmyway.com/blog/2010/07/16/dress-shirts-art-charles-ledray/

LeDray created an exhibit of tiny suits and dress shirts. That’s a pretty cool concept! The article highlighted the non-functionality of the exhibit and how that makes the audience feel. When creating my work, I definitely need to consider the feeling my dress provides. How I want my piece to be interpreted and he general functionality of said piece. I want to be able to walk but I think sitting is optional, therefore the back of the dress can involve intricate designs. I will further consider the materials used to make those designs once I have the base of the dress made. I would like the involve crushed glass, or at least the same effect, as the irony in wearing glass is something I’d like to further explore.

While scouring through google images, I have found a common trend. Many vintage pieces of clothing (and even, to an extent, modern runway pieces) are considered to be “art”. I plan on exploring the cultures behind the designs in order to better understand what I’m portraying. As of right now I’m leaning towards a very vintage design. One which I enjoy because of the long sleeves and amazing skirt!

vintage-english

vintage-back

Please Note: These designs originated in the 1800’s, in areas such an France, England and Spain. However, that’s all I know about them as of right now. 

silk-moire-reception-gown-1860s            shell-pink-silk-reception-gown-1880s

china

Please Note: I am unaware of the cultural significance concerning these designs, and if intrigued will learn more. 

africa   africa-3

africa-2

Please Note: These designs mainly originate from West Africa, and I am basically uneducated on the topic. 

Leave a comment